Germany first team to reach World Cup after beating North Macedonia

Jamal Musiala
Jamal Musiala scored his first Germany goal on his ninth cap

Germany became the first team to join hosts Qatar at the 2022 World Cup with a thumping victory in North Macedonia.

Former England youth international Jamal Musiala opened his account for the Germans, running in on goal and stroking home a confident finish.

Kai Havertz claimed the first goal in the second half, slotting in from Thomas Muller’s unselfish pass.

Timo Werner smashed home the second following Muller’s superb flick and also curled in a delightful third.

The Germans could have had more, but Chelsea forward Werner rattled the post with a thumping low drive on the stroke of half time, but managed to score twice as his side got the job done with clinical finishing in the second period.

It will be a night to remember for 18-year-old ex-Chelsea academy graduate Musiala, who played 19 times for various England youth teams but declared to play for Germany through his mother, as he netted a first senior goal on his ninth cap.

Hansi Flick’s men, who are four-time world champions, reach the tournament for the 20th occasion, with only Brazil (21) appearing more times.

They did it with two games to spare, with meetings against Liechtenstein and Armenia to come next month.


North Macedonia

Formation 4-2-3-1

  • 1Dimitrievski
  • 13RistovskiBooked at 70minsSubstituted forAskovskiat 77′minutes
  • 14Velkovski
  • 6Musliu
  • 8Alioski
  • 21KostadinovSubstituted forRistevskiat 77′minutes
  • 5AdemiSubstituted forSpirovskiat 29′minutes
  • 16NikolovSubstituted forRakipat 58′minutes
  • 7Elmas
  • 11Churlinov
  • 18JahovicSubstituted forMiovskiat 58′minutes


  • 2Todoroski
  • 3Askovski
  • 4Ristevski
  • 9Trajkovski
  • 10Atanasov
  • 12Iliev
  • 15Zajkov
  • 17Rakip
  • 19Serafimov
  • 20Spirovski
  • 22Siskovski
  • 23Miovski


Formation 4-2-3-1

  • 1Neuer
  • 16Klostermann
  • 15Süle
  • 5Kehrer
  • 21Raum
  • 8GoretzkaSubstituted forWirtzat 61′minutes
  • 6Kimmich
  • 10GnabrySubstituted forHofmannat 74′minutes
  • 13MüllerSubstituted forNeuhausat 80′minutes
  • 7HavertzBooked at 54minsSubstituted forAdeyemiat 61′minutes
  • 9WernerSubstituted forMusialaat 74′minutes


  • 3Schlotterbeck
  • 4Ginter
  • 11Reus
  • 12Leno
  • 14Musiala
  • 17Neuhaus
  • 18Hofmann
  • 19Sané
  • 20Adeyemi
  • 22ter Stegen
  • 23Wirtz

Live Text

Source link

Related Articles

Back to top button